The library was formerly referred to as Library of Central South College of Fine Arts. The College was established in Wuhan in 1953 and moved to Guangzhou in 1958. The College was renamed as Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts and the Library took its name at that time.
Over 50 years of development, the Library has continually expanded. The floor space totals 15,000 square meters, including 4,000 square meters at Changgang Campus and 11,000 square meters at University Town Campus. The Library can accommodate 1440 seats and 110 computers are available for teachers and students for online research, including 50 at Changgang and 60 at University Town.
The library has a huge collection of books on Theory of Fine Arts and Painting Techniques, painting albums, periodicals, and rare antique paintings and calligraphy works. To date, the works collected total 310,700 copies, including 219,700 books and 19,700 periodicals, 2543 paintings and calligraphy works by famed painters and calligraphers, particularly those of Lingnan Painting School, imitations of masterpieces imported from other countries, and rubbings of Han Dynasty stone carvings, and 1034 copies of works and painting albums by the teachers and students of the Academy.
The library is redoubling its effort to construct its databases. The electronic resources include 107,074 electronic books, 324 kinds of electronic journals, 5 theme-based info banks, a CD-ROM bank (554 CD-ROMs), an online visual studio bank, an artistic picture bank, China Academic Journal Network, China Doctoral Dissertations ＆ Master's Theses Full-text Database, VIP Chinese Periodical Database, and the Wanfang Digital Database.